Millwood’s Cameron Batson Named Gatorade Player of the Year

Football season is nearing it’s end and that means only one thing.  Awards season!  On Thursday, Gatorade announced the winners their player of the year award for each state.  Oklahoma’s award goes to Millwood ATH Cameron Batson.  Batson joins the likes of Wes Welker, Matt Holliday, Robert Meacham and Gerald McCoy as previous Oklahoma recipients.  Last year’s winner was Stanvon Taylor from East Central who is now playing at the University of Oklahoma.  Batson is already committed to play division 1 football as well.  He’ll be headed south of the Red River to Texas Tech.  He’s the second Millwood player to win this award, Gerald Jones won it in 2007.  “This is such an honor and I immediately thanked God, my family and my teammates for pushing me everyday and helping me accomplish this award.”  Batson said on winning the award.
“This is a huge award for Cameron.  He and the team are well deserved of this honor and it couldn’t have gone to a better represenative of the school, community and program.  He exemplifies Falcon Pride.”  Millwood head coach Darwin Franklin said on his star athlete.  Batson moved to quarterback for his senior year and has done nothing but impress.  The future Red Raider has thrown for almost 2,000 yards and 27 touchdowns.  A true dual threat at QB, Batson has also torched opponents on the ground.  In 13 games, Batson has 1,039 yards and 16 touchdowns on just 108 carries.
Batson is now eligible to win the national player of the year award that will be announced later on this month.  Batson never thought he’d be able to win this award and represent Oklahoma.  “I honestly did not think I could win such a prestigious award but that’s just God rewarding me for all the hardwork and sacrifices I have made.  I’m not satisfied yet, I want that gold ball,” Batson said.  The Texas Tech commit has helped lead his team to a 13-0 mark and a shot to play for that gold ball in a semifinal appearance next week against Hartshorne.  Millwood has had plenty of success over the last several years but have not won a state title since 2006.  Batson is working to change that.  “It drives me a lot because I feel like I have accomplished so much, but in order for my team to be satisfied, we must obtain the state championship.  This makes me work harder and stay humble.”
Batson will get his opportunity to play for the state title next Friday when Millwood plays Hartshorne next Friday in Ada.  There’s no doubt that Batson can lead them to Stillwater to have a shot at winning the gold ball.  Coach Franklin has complete confidence in his player of the year.  “Cameron has an uncanny ability to work hard in practice and make plays during games, while putting the team’s success before his own.  He is a player who is unselfish and leads by example.  One characteristic that stands out about Cameron is his relentless desire for success.  Not just athletically but also academically.  When a young man uses his God given talents and abilities for good.  Good things will happen.”  Batson has a 4.0 GPA and ranks 1st in his graduating class.  You can hear from Cameron on the High School Roundup Saturday morning at 11:40 AM on 97.1 FM, 96.1 FM and streaming online at  If you can’t listen at that time, the show will be uploaded onto iTunes Saturday afternoon.  Just search “Oklahoma High School Roundup”.

Previous Award Winners:

2012 Stanvon Taylor-East Central
2011 Andrew Hearon-Metro Christian
2010 Demarco Cobbs-Central
2009 Timothy Flanders-Midwest City
2008 Mark Ginther-Jenks
2007 Gerald Jones-Millwood
2006 Gerald McCoy-Southeast
2005 Reggie Smith-Edmond Santa Fe
2004 DJ Wolfe-Lawton Eisenhower
2003 Robert Meachem-Booker T Washington
2002 Matt Warren-Putnam City North
2001 Bobby Klinck-Jenks
2000 Wes Welker-Heritage Hall
1999 Chris Massey-Spiro
1998 Matt Holliday-Stillwater
1997 Josh Fidler-Jenks
1996 Vernon Maxwell-Midwest City
1995 Bennie Butler-Del City
1994 Marcus Nash-Edmond Memorial
1993 James Allen-Wynnewood
1992 J.R. Conrad-Fairland
1991 Che Foster-Edmond Memorial
1990 Cale Gundy-Midwest City
1989 Dewell Brewer-Lawton
1988 Mike Filson-Edmond Memorial
1987 Tony Brooks-Booker T Washington
1986 Quinn Grovey-Duncan


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s