Class 3A Quarterfinals Preview

 

Blanchard (11-0) AT Lincoln Christian (8-4)

 

 

This is the same Lincoln Christian team that gave up 80 points to Locust Grove in week 9. That might have been the turning point. The Bulldogs were able to upset Victory Christian 27-26 in overtime last week in the 2nd round after getting a surprising 20 point win over Stigler. I was waiting to see when Lincoln Christian would arrive in 3A football. What I mean by that is, when would they start competing the way they did in 2A. I think this could be the start of that. They have a tall task as they’ll play host to the defending state champion Blanchard Lions. The champs have beaten everybody they’ve played this season. Only a handful of their games have been close and they’ve blasted their first two playoff opponents by a combined score of 117-13. I like Lincoln Christian and I think they’ll start competing more in 3A. Over the next couple seasons I see them going deeper and deeper in the playoffs. I could be wrong on this because Lincoln Christian really surprised me with the way they beat Victory Christian. Not only did they get up on the Conquerors 20-7, they didn’t back down when Victory came back to send it to OT. Having said all that, the cinderella run ends here when the champs come to town.

 

 

Locust Grove (12-0) AT Plainview (12-0)

 

 

 

Only battle in 3A this week that puts two undefeated teams against eachother. Let’s start with Plainview. The Indians have only played 2 close games all season and both came against the same team. They have blown out everybody except for Tuttle. In week 1 those two teams played with Plainview winning by 5. In last week’s 2nd round matchup, Plainview got the best of the Tigers again winning by 8. Locust Grove really impressed me with the way they dispatched a very good Berryhill team last week at home. In fact, the Pirates have been impressive all year long and finally sold me last week with their dominant performance. Locust Grove finished the season undefeated and that included wins over quarterfinalist teams like Hilldale and Lincoln Christian in district play. I’m sold on the Pirates, I don’t know how far they can go but I’m buying into Matt Hennesey and this Locust Grove team. I think Locust Grove can continue this surprising run into the semifinals and honestly I think they can get to the title game. In my opinion, I think they’ll see a Seminole or Kingfisher in the title game and I don’t know how all this youth will respond to playing an experienced team like that. They’ll have to drive basically to another state to play this game but I think they get the win close.

 

 

 

Seminole (12-0) AT Hilldale (10-2)

 

 

 

Hilldale shocked the state when they upset Metro Christian. Hilldale couldn’t manage too many points but they shut down Metro Christian’s offense. The Hornets were able to pull off a huge 14-12 upset of the unbeaten Patriots. Now, having said that, the road ends here. Enter Papi White. Not familiar with Mr. White? All he’s done so far in the first two rounds of the playoffs is run for over 800 yards. White set an Oklahoma record for most rushing yards in a playoff game with over 460 in the 1st round. He added over 350 last week. Hilldale did a phenominal job stopping Metro Christian’s offense and they get Seminole at home. The Chieftains contiune to roll in my opinion. Hilldale played Locust Grove close and has a very impressive win over Metro but Seminole and Papi White has me sold. I honestly think that this will be a close game. As much as I’m talking up Seminole, I think Hilldale can slow White down. I don’t think that they’ll be able to slow him down enough. Hilldale could pull another upset and get a win over a very strong Seminole team but I don’t see it happening tonight. White is playing at another level and has this Seminole team on his back. The Chieftains advance to the semifinals led by another good performance by Papi White.

 

 

 

 

 

Kingfisher (12-0) AT Beggs (10-2)

 

 

 

Beggs just keep winning games when not a lot of people expect it. The Demons beat Claremore Sequoyah and then beat a good Checotah team last week. End of the road Beggs! All due respect, and Beggs has earned our respect after the last two weeks, Beggs has no chance to advance to the semifinals in my opinion. Kingfisher looks like they’re on a mission to make it to the title game. The Yellowjackets are beating opponents by an average score of 49-6. The closest game they’ve played all year was 34-7 win over Marlow. A 27 point win is your closest win? You’re dominant. If Beggs wins, it’ll be the upset of the year. I love what Lee Blankenship is doing with this Beggs program and they’re going to have some nice battles with Victory Christian and Hilldale over the next two seasons. Kingfisher wants the gold ball and I don’t think Beggs stands a chance in this quarterfinal match-up. Yellowjackets win big.

 

Leave a Reply

